IntelliJ IDEA 13.1.0 Web Help

File | Settings | IDE Settings | General

settings

Use this page to configure general behavior of IntelliJ IDEA.

Item Description
Startup/Shutdown In this area, configure behavior of IntelliJ IDEA on launch and exit.
Reopen last project on startup Select this check box to have IntelliJ IDEA re-open the last opened project on startup.
Confirm application exit Select this check box to have a warning message displayed when you attempt to close IntelliJ IDEA.
12.0+ Project opening In this section, configure the behavior of IntelliJ IDEA on opening a new project. Refer to the section Opening Multiple Projects.
Open project in a new window Click this radio button to always open a new project in a new window.
Open project in the same window Click this radio button to always close the current project, and reuse the same window.
Confirm window to open project in Click this radio button to have IntelliJ IDEA ask you whether you want to open a new project in the same frame, or in a new one.
Synchronization In this area, configure behavior of IntelliJ IDEA on moving the focus to another application.
Synchronize files on frame activation Select this check box to have all externally changed files detected and reloaded from disk when you switch to IntelliJ IDEA from another application.
Save files on frame deactivation Select this check box to have all modified files saved every time you switch to another application.
Clearing the check box may cause a conflict of changes within and outside IntelliJ IDEA when it loses the focus. In this case, IntelliJ IDEA will prompt you to select the desired revision. See File Cache Conflict dialog for details.
Save files automatically if application is idle for number sec Select this check box to have IntelliJ IDEA save any modified file every time it is idle for a certain period of time. In the text box, specify the time period in seconds.
11.0+Use "safe write" (save changes to a temporary file first) If this check box is selected, a changed file will be first saved to a temporary file; if the save operation is completed successfully, the original file is deleted, and the temporary file is renamed.

See Also

Procedures:

Web Resources: