MPS Help

Saving and Reverting Changes

When working with MPS, you don't need to worry about saving changed files: all changes are auto saved.

Unwanted changes can be undone at any stage of your development workflow. Any file or directory can be reverted to any of the previous states.

When does MPS auto save changed files?

Autosave is initiated by:

  • Starting a run/debug configuration
  • Performing a version control operation such as pull, commit, push, etc.
  • Closing a file in the editor
  • Closing a project
  • Quitting the IDE

In fact, there is a lot more autosave triggers, and only the most important ones are mentioned above.

Tuning the autosave behavior

The following options are available for tuning the autosave behavior (File | Settings | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings):

  • Save files on frame deactivation (i.e. on switching from MPS to a different application)
  • Save files automatically if application is idle for N seconds

Note that those are optional autosave triggers, and you cannot turn off autosave completely.

Using the Save All command

If necessary, you can initiate saving all changed files yourself. There is the Save All command for that:

  • File | Save All
  • Ctrl+S

Marking files with unsaved changes in the editor

Changed but yet unsaved files can be marked. For this purpose, there is the Mark modified tabs with asterisk option (File | Settings | Editor | General | Editor Tabs).

When this option is on, the files with unsaved changes have an asterisk asterisk_marker on their editor tabs.

Saving a file under a different name

There is no File | Save As command in MPS. To save a file under a different name or in a different directory, use Refactor | Copy or F5.

Reverting changes

You can undo changes by using Edit | Undo or Ctrl+Z. To revert files to their previous states, use Local History and corresponding version control functionality.

See Also

Last modified: 8 October 2015