If you delete a file under version control, it still exists in the repository until deletion is committed. A deleted file is placed to the active changelist, and is displayed in grey font.
- Select a file in any navigation view, and press DeleteDeleteDeleteDeleteDelete or Ctrl+DDeleteDeleteDeleteDelete, Backspace or Command BackspaceDelete, Backspace or Command BackspaceDelete, Backspace or Command Backspace, or choose Delete on the context menu.
- In the dialog that opens, you can opt to delete file without search for usages, or perform safe
to make sure that you are deleting an unused file, by checking
option. In this case, specify the refactoring options.
The encountered usages are reported in the Usages Detected dialog box. You can view and correct these usages in the Safe Delete tab of the Find tool window. The deleted files are added to a changelist.
- Commit changes to the repository.