Datalore Help

Share a notebook

You can share notebooks from your default Home workspace to work on them together with other users. Users with an Edit permission can work directly on the shared version of the notebook. Users with a View permission can view the shared version of the notebook but must clone it to their file system to edit its content.

To access the shared notebooks, select Shared with you on the left-side menu of the Home page.

Permission type comparison

The table below shows how viewers and editors can work on a shared notebook.

Action/Permission typeViewerEditor
Share the notebookNoYes. When running the notebook, the owner's resources are consumed.
Clone and copy the notebooksYesYes
Download the shared notebookYesYes
Rename the shared notebookNoYes
View the notebook in the editorYesYes
Run or edit the notebookThe notebook must be cloned to the viewer's file system. Yes
Download the notebooksYesYes
View the notebook attachmentsYesYes
Change the notebook attachmentsNoYes

Create an invitation

  1. Open the sharing dialog:
    • On the editor page, click the Share icon in the upper-right corner of the editor.

    • On the Home page, right-click the notebook that you want to share and select Share from the popup menu.

  2. In the sharing dialog, enter the email addresses of the users you want to invite.

  3. Select a permission type for the invited users.

  4. Click Send invitation.

Share workspace dialog

Revoke an invitation

To cancel a pending invitation or granted access, remove the respective record from the invitation list:

  1. Click the vertical ellipsis icon in the record that you want to remove.

  2. Click Remove.

  3. Click Send invitation.

Revoke an invitation
Last modified: 29 March 2021