Redefined Project Teams
In previous versions of Hub, you could mark a role as a team role. This option elevated the visibility of a role assignment by adding users with team roles to the list of users in a project team.
In preparation for an upcoming change to project teams, this option has been removed, as it is no longer relevant.
Changes Applied to Project Teams
When migrating to this model, Hub collected the list of users and groups who were assigned the Project Admin or Developer role in each project. These are the two roles that were marked as team roles by default. These users and groups were then added to the project team.
Users and groups who were assigned any other role that was marked as a team role are still assigned their corresponding roles in a project, however, as these roles are no longer marked as team roles, these users no longer appear as members of the project team. This does not mean that they lose any permissions. Their access rights in the project are not affected.
For additional information, see Manage the Project Team.
When adding the project team as an explicit entity, we also enabled the option to set a specific user as the owner of the project. The project owner is automatically granted the Project Admin role in the project.
As this option did not exist previously, Hub attempts to locate an appropriate owner for each project during the migration. The project owner is set automatically based on the following logic:
- Hub builds a list of users who are granted the Project Admin role in the project. Users who are banned are ignored.
- The list is sorted by the total number of permissions that are assigned to each user.
- The user with the highest number of permissions becomes the project owner. In case of a tie, the user in this subset with the lowest login (when sorted alphabetically in ascending order) is selected.
Improved Team Management Options
As a result of this update, you can now manage members of the project team directly. You no longer have to rely on team role flags to manage this list of users.
New controls have been added to the team list that let you add or remove users or groups directly on the project profile page.
During the migration, Hub performed a very selected cleanup of groups that were redundant to the new project teams. The purpose of this cleanup was to remove <project name>-team groups. These groups were created automatically when a project was added to Hub. Their purpose was to assign the Developer role to users who were added to the project team based on their membership in these groups. As these groups duplicate role assignments that are now granted directly to members of the project team, Hub attempts to merge these groups into project teams during upgrade.
If all of the following conditions were met, the groups were merged into the project team:
- The group was the only entity that granted the Developer or Project Admin roles in the project.
- The group was already granted the Developer role in the project.
- The group did not have the Auto-join property enabled.
- The group was not set as one of the Auto-join groups for a license or an authentication module.
- The group was not assigned any roles in other projects.