MPS 2017.3 Help

System Settings

File | Settings | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings for Windows and Linux
MPS | Preferences | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings for macOS
N/A settings


Use this page to configure general behavior of MPS.

Startup/Shutdown

ItemDescription
Reopen last project on startupSelect this checkbox to have MPS re-open the last opened project on startup.
Confirm application exitSelect this checkbox to have a warning message displayed when you attempt to close MPS.

Project opening

ItemDescription
Open project in a new windowClick this radio button to always open a new project in a new window.
Open project in the same windowClick this radio button to always close the current project, and reuse the same window.
Confirm window to open project inClick this radio button to have MPS ask you whether you want to open a new project in the same frame, or in a new one.

Synchronization

ItemDescription
Synchronize files on frame or editor tab activation If this checkbox is selected, all the files that were changed externally are reloaded from disk when you switch to MPS from a different application, or when you you switch to their editor tab.
Save files on frame deactivation If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved when you switch from MPS to a different application.

Note that you cannot disable autosave completely by turning off this and the following option. See also, the Saving and Reverting Changes section.

Save files automatically if application is idle for N secondsIf this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved at regular time internals. See also, the Saving and Reverting Changes section.
Use "safe write" (save changes to a temporary file first)If this checkbox is selected, a changed file is first saved in a temporary file. If the save operation succeeds, the file being saved is replaced with the saved file. (Technically, the original file is deleted and the temporary file is renamed.)
Also, the ownership of such file changes.

If this checkbox is not selected, the ownership of a file does not change, but all the advantages of safe write will be lost.

Accessibility

ItemDescription
Support screen readers (requires restart)

On Closing Tool Windows with Running Process

ItemDescription
TerminateIf this option is selected, the running process disconnects and terminates silently.
Disconnect (if available)If this option is selected, the running process is disconnected.
AskIf this option is selected, the dialog box shows up:
terminate running process
Last modified: 6 December 2017