AppCode 2018.3 Help

System Settings


Use this page to configure general behavior of AppCode.

Startup/Shutdown

Item

Description

Reopen last project on startup

Select this checkbox to have AppCode re-open the last opened project on startup.

Confirm application exit

Select this checkbox to have a warning message displayed when you attempt to close AppCode.

Project opening

Item

Description

Open project in a new window

Click this radio button to always open a new project in a new window.

Open project in the same window

Click this radio button to always close the current project, and reuse the same window.

Confirm window to open project in

Click this radio button to have AppCode ask you whether you want to open a new project in the same frame, or in a new one.

Synchronization

Item

Description

Synchronize files on frame or editor tab activation

If this checkbox is selected, all the files that were changed externally are reloaded from disk when you switch to AppCode from a different application, or when you you switch to their editor tab.

Save files on frame deactivation

If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved when you switch from AppCode to a different application.

Note that you cannot disable autosave completely by turning off this and the following option. See also, the Saving and Reverting Changes section.

Save files automatically if application is idle for N seconds

If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved at regular time internals.

See also, the Saving and Reverting Changes section.

Use "safe write" (save changes to a temporary file first)

If this checkbox is selected, a changed file is first saved in a temporary file. If the save operation succeeds, the file being saved is replaced with the saved file. (Technically, the original file is deleted and the temporary file is renamed.)
Also, the ownership of such file changes.

If this checkbox is not selected, the ownership of a file does not change, but all the advantages of safe write will be lost.

On Closing Tool Windows with Running Process

Item

Description

Terminate

If this option is selected, the running process disconnects and terminates silently.

Disconnect (if available)

If this option is selected, the running process is disconnected.

Ask

If this option is selected, the dialog shows up, prompting to confirm the termination:

terminate running process

Last modified: 7 December 2018

See Also