Use this page to specify additional configuration settings for uploading and downloading project files to and from local and remote servers. For more details about various server access configurations, see Deploy your application.
The options specified in this dialog apply to all defined server configurations regardless of the server type (local, remote) and the data transfer protocol used. Protocol-specific options for server configurations of the type FTP/SFTP/FTPS/WebDAV are defined on the Connection tab of the Deployment page of the Settings dialog.
Exclude items by name
In this field, specify patterns for the names of files and folders that you do not need to be deployed.
For example, if you have a folder stylesheets with three files style.css, style1.css, and style2.scss, then
Learn more from Regular-Expressions.info.
The exclusion is applied recursively. This means that if a matching folder has subfolders, the contents of these subfolders are not deployed either.
Use this list to specify how much detailed logging you need to have. The available options are:
Overwrite up-to-date files
If this checkbox is selected, all files will be uploaded no matter whether they have been changed since the previous upload or not.
Otherwise, if this checkbox is not selected, only the files that have been changed since the previous upload will be uploaded.
Preserve files timestamps
Select this checkbox to prevent resetting timestamps of files on upload.
Delete target items when source ones do not exist (when transferring from Project view or Remote Host view)
If this checkbox is selected, any file in the destination directory will be removed if the file with this name is not involved in the current upload.
This option is applicable when synchronization if performed from the Project tool window or from the Remote Host tool window.
Create empty directories
Select this checkbox to have an empty directory on the server created automatically if a new local directory has been created in your project since the last upload in the source folder.
Prompt when overwriting or deleting local items
Select this checkbox to have PhpStorm prompt for confirmation before overwriting or deleting local items for synchronization during download.
Confirm uploading files
Select this checkbox to have PhpStorm prompt for confirmation before uploading local items to a remote host.
Upload changed files automatically to the default server
From this list, choose when you want PhpStorm to automatically upload a file to the default server or server group. The available options are:
The default server configuration or a server group is appointed on the Deployment page by selecting the desired item in the list and clicking the Use as Default toolbar button .
Skip external changes
Select this checkbox to exclude local changes that were made using a third-party tool (a VCS, a script, and so on) from automatic upload.
The checkbox is available only when the Always or On explicit save action option is selected in the Upload changed files automatically to the default server list.
Delete remote files when local are deleted
Select this checkbox to have PhpStorm automatically delete remote files during automatic uploads in case the local ones are deleted. The checkbox is available only when the Always or On explicit save action option is selected in the Upload changed files automatically to the default server list.
Note that this option serves as an extra safety measure and may result in unwanted files remaining on the remote server. As an example, consider a local file Foo.php, which is renamed to Bar.php. Since renaming a file is technically indistinguishable from deleting the file and creating a new one, the following will happen after automatic upload:
Preserve original file permissions
If enabled, PhpStorm will preserve the original local files' permissions when uploading files on remote hosts over FTP/FTPS.
The option is only available for macOS and Linux.
Override default permissions on files
Select this checkbox to change the default permissions assigned to uploaded files on remote hosts. Click Browse to open the Files Default Permissions dialog, where you can manage access to uploaded files on remote hosts by assigning permissions.
Override default permissions on folders
Select this checkbox to change the default permissions assigned to uploaded folders on remote hosts. Click Browse to open the Folders Default Permissions dialog, where you can manage access to uploaded folders on remote hosts by assigning permissions.
Warn when uploading over newer file
Use this list to define the version-control policy to apply when uploading files to remote hosts. Depending on this choice, PhpStorm either checks whether any changes have been made to the corresponding files on the remote host since you downloaded them or just overwrites the remote files.
Notify of remote changes
Select this checkbox to receive notifications about changes on the remote host. The checkbox is available only when the Compare timestamp and size or Compare content option is selected in the Warn when uploading over newer file list.