JetBrains Rider 2018.2 Help

System Settings

File | Settings | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings for Windows and Linux
JetBrains Rider | Preferences | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings for macOS
Ctrl+Alt+S icons general settings svg


Use this page to configure general behavior of JetBrains Rider.

Startup/Shutdown

Item

Description

Reopen last project on startup

Select this checkbox to have JetBrains Rider re-open the last opened project on startup.

Confirm application exit

Select this checkbox to have a warning message displayed when you attempt to close JetBrains Rider.

Solution opening

Item

Description

Default directory

Use this field to specify the root directory for your solutions. JetBrains Rider will start with this directory when you open existing projects.

Open solution in a new window

Click this radio button to always open a new solution in a new window.

Open solution in the same window

Click this radio button to always close the current solution, and reuse the same window.

Confirm window to open solution in

Click this radio button to have JetBrains Rider ask you whether you want to open a new solution in the same frame, or in a new one.

Synchronization

Item

Description

Synchronize files on frame or editor tab activation

If this checkbox is selected, all the files that were changed externally are reloaded from disk when you switch to JetBrains Rider from a different application, or when you you switch to their editor tab.

Save files on frame deactivation

If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved when you switch from JetBrains Rider to a different application.

Save files automatically if application is idle for N seconds

If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved at regular time internals.

Use "safe write" (save changes to a temporary file first)

If this checkbox is selected, a changed file is first saved in a temporary file. If the save operation succeeds, the file being saved is replaced with the saved file. (Technically, the original file is deleted and the temporary file is renamed.)
Also, the ownership of such file changes.

If this checkbox is not selected, the ownership of a file does not change, but all the advantages of safe write will be lost.

Accessibility

Item

Description

Support screen readers (requires restart)

On Closing Tool Windows with Running Process

Item

Description

Terminate

If this option is selected, the running process disconnects and terminates silently.

Disconnect (if available)

If this option is selected, the running process is disconnected.

Ask

If this option is selected, the dialog shows up, prompting to confirm the termination:

terminate running process

Last modified: 17 October 2018

See Also