RubyMine 2016.2 Help

System Settings

File | Settings | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings
RubyMine | Preferences | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings

Use this page to configure general behavior of RubyMine.

Startup/Shutdown

ItemDescription
Reopen last project on startupSelect this check box to have RubyMine re-open the last opened project on startup.
Confirm application exitSelect this check box to have a warning message displayed when you attempt to close RubyMine.

Project opening

ItemDescription
Open project in a new windowClick this radio button to always open a new project in a new window.
Open project in the same windowClick this radio button to always close the current project, and reuse the same window.
Confirm window to open project inClick this radio button to have RubyMine ask you whether you want to open a new project in the same frame, or in a new one.

Synchronization

ItemDescription
Synchronize files on frame or editor tab activation If this check box is selected, all the files that were changed externally are reloaded from disk when you switch to RubyMine from a different application, or when you you switch to their editor tab.
Save files on frame deactivation If this check box is selected, all modified files are auto saved when you switch from RubyMine to a different application.

Note that you cannot disable autosave completely by turning off this and the following option. See Saving and Reverting Changes.

Save files automatically if application is idle for N secondsIf this check box is selected, all modified files are auto saved at regular time internals. See also, Saving and Reverting Changes.
Use "safe write" (save changes to a temporary file first)If this check box is selected, a changed file is first saved in a temporary file. If the save operation succeeds, the file being saved is replaced with the saved file. (Technically, the original file is deleted and the temporary file is renamed.)
Also, the ownership of such file changes.

If this check box is not selected, the ownership of a file does not change, but all the advantages of safe write will be lost.

See Also

Last modified: 1 September 2016