RubyMine 2020.2 Help

System Settings

File | Settings | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings for Windows and Linux

RubyMine | Preferences | Appearance and Behavior | System Settings for macOS Ctrl+Alt+S the Settings/Preferences icon

Use this page to configure general behavior of RubyMine.

Startup/Shutdown

Item

Description

Reopen last project on startupSelect this checkbox to have RubyMine re-open the last opened project on startup.
Confirm application exitSelect this checkbox to have a warning message displayed when you attempt to close RubyMine.

Project opening

Item

Description

Open project in a new windowSelect this option to always open a new project in a new window. If this option is selected, the command Attach project appears in the File menu, which allows you to select the folder of the project to be attached.
Open project in the same windowSelect this option to always close the current project, and reuse the same window.
Confirm window to open project inSelect this option to have RubyMine ask you whether you want to open a new project in the same window, or in a new one.

Autosave

Item

Description

Synchronize external changes when switching to the IDE window or opening an editor tab If this checkbox is selected, all the files that were changed externally are reloaded from disk when you switch to RubyMine from a different application, or when you switch to their editor tab.
Save files when switching to a different application

If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved when you switch from RubyMine to a different application.

Note that you cannot disable auto-save completely by turning off this and the following option. See also, the Saving and Reverting Changes section.

Save files if the IDE is idle for N seconds

If this checkbox is selected, all modified files are auto saved at regular time internals.

See also, the Saving and Reverting Changes section.

Back up files before saving

If this checkbox is selected, a changed file is first saved in a temporary file. If the save operation succeeds, the file being saved is replaced with the saved file. (Technically, the original file is deleted and the temporary file is renamed.)

Also, the ownership of such file changes.

If this checkbox is not selected, the ownership of a file does not change, but all the advantages of safe write will be lost.

On Closing Tool Windows with Running Process

Item

Description

TerminateIf this option is selected, the running process disconnects and terminates silently.
Disconnect (if available)If this option is selected, the running process is disconnected.
Ask

If this option is selected, the dialog shows up, prompting to confirm the termination:

Terminating a running process
Last modified: 24 August 2020