YouTrack Cloud 2024.2 Help

Deleted Items

Issues, tickets, and knowledge base articles are not permanently removed immediately after being deleted by a user. Recently deleted items can be restored by an administrator through the Deleted Items feature in the Server Configuration Settings. Items can also be permanently deleted before the YouTrack housekeeping permanently removes them.

Deleted Items List

The Deleted Items page displays all recently deleted items that have the option of being restored.

The list displays:

  • Item ID

  • Item summary or title

  • Date/Time the item was deleted

You can search for recently deleted items in the search filter by entering either the exact item ID or a string to match within the summary/title.

Restore recently deleted items.

Restore Deleted Items

Deleted items are restored in the state they were deleted. All field values, links, and attachments are restored with a restored item.

To restore deleted items:

  1. Click the View deleted items link under the Server Configuration tab in Global Settings.

    • A list of recently deleted issues, tickets, and knowledge base articles are displayed.

  2. Select one or more items to restore.

  3. Click Restore selected.

    • Click Restore all to restore all issues on the list.

  4. Click Restore to confirm.

Permanently Delete Items

The Deleted Items feature can also permanently delete selected items. Items that are permanently deleted are removed from the database and no longer have the option of being restored at a later time.

To permanently delete items:

  1. Click the View deleted items link under the Server Configuration tab in Global Settings.

    • A list of recently deleted issues, tickets, and knowledge base articles are displayed.

  2. Select one or more items to permanently delete.

  3. Click Delete selected permanently.

  4. Click Delete to confirm.

    • This action cannot be undone.

Selected items that include attachments permanently delete the attachment as well.

The YouTrack database cleanup process and resource utilization monitor runs asynchronously. This means that after an item is permanently deleted, the system may take up to several hours to sync and show freed space in the database.

Restored Item Records

After an item has been restored, a record of the action can be found in:

Last modified: 16 July 2024