YouTrack InCloud 2017.3 Help

Edit a Workflow

You can modify an existing workflow to adapt it to a specific use case. You can upload and customize rules from the Custom Workflow Repository, modify your own workflows, or edit the default workflows that are available in your YouTrack instance.

When you apply changes to default workflows, your changes are preserved even when a new version of the default workflow is included in an upgrade of the product. You can revert your changes and restore the default definition of the workflow at any time. For more information, see Default Workflows.

Updates to workflow rules are applied immediately in all projects to which they are attached when the changes are saved in the workflow editor.

To edit a workflow:

  1. From the Project-related Settings section of the Administration menu, select Workflows.
  2. Locate the workflow that you want to modify and click its name in the list.
    • The workflow opens in the Workflows page.
    • The New Module dialog opens in the sidebar.
  3. Here, you can either add a module to extend the workflow, or modify an existing module. To open an existing module in the editor, click the name of the module in the list.
  4. Modify the rule or script to support your use case.
  5. When done, click the Save button.
    • Updates to the workflow rules are applied immediately in all projects to which they are attached.

Delete Workflows and Rules

You can delete workflows in the Administration area in YouTrack. Follow this procedure when you want to delete the entire workflow, including all of the rules and custom scripts that it contains.

This action requires that you have the relevant permissions in all of the projects to which the workflow is currently attached.

To delete a workflow in YouTrack:

  1. From the Project-related Settings section of the Administration menu, select Workflows.
  2. Select the workflow or workflows that you want to delete in the list.
  3. Click the Delete selected workflows icon in the toolbar.
  4. Confirm the action in the confirmation dialog.
    • The selected workflows are deleted.

Follow this procedure to delete individual rules without removing the entire workflow.

This action requires that you have the relevant permissions in all of the projects to which the rule is currently attached.

To delete individual workflow rules:

  1. From the Project-related Settings section of the Administration menu, select Workflows.
  2. Locate the workflow that you want to modify and click its name in the list.
    • The workflow opens in the Workflows page.
  3. Next to the module that contains the rule that you want to delete, click the Delete module icon.
  4. Confirm the action in the confirmation dialog.
    • The selected module is removed from the workflow.
Last modified: 17 November 2017