YouTrack InCloud 7.0 Help

Edit a Workflow

You can modify an existing workflow to adapt it to a specific use case.

You can upload and edit rules from the Custom Workflow Repository, modify your own workflows, or edit the default workflows that are available in your YouTrack instance.

When you upgrade your YouTrack instance, updates are only applied to default workflows that have not been modified. If you want to apply updates to an edited workflow, use the Restore default workflows option on the Administration > Workflow page. This option overwrites the default workflows with the definitions that are stored on the YouTrack server. Any changes that you have made to default workflows are lost. If you wish to keep your changes, make a copy of the default workflow with another name before you restore the default workflow definitions.

Edits to workflow rules are applied immediately after they are uploaded to the server in all projects to which they are attached .

Before you can edit workflows, you need to download, install, and configure the YouTrack Workflow Editor.

To edit a workflow:

  1. Open the YouTrack Workflow Editor.
  2. Click the workflow_fromServer button to download the workflows and custom field schema from your YouTrack server.
  3. Select a workflow rule from the list.
  4. Modify the rule to support your use case.
  5. When done, click the workflow_toServer button to upload the changes to your YouTrack server.

You can also edit an exported workflow in the editor and then either upload it directly to your server or import it to another server. For more information, see Import and Export Workflows in the Editor.

Delete Workflows and Rules

You can delete workflows in the Administration area in YouTrack or in the Workflow Editor. Changes are synchronised when you download workflows that were deleted in YouTrack or upload workflows that were deleted in the Workflow Editor.

To delete a workflow in YouTrack:

  1. On the Administration > Workflow tab, click the Delete link for the workflow.
  2. Confirm the deletion of the workflow.

To delete a workflow in the Workflow Editor:

  1. Download current data and issue fields schema from YouTrack server
  2. In the list of workflows, right-click the name of the workflow in question and select Delete.
  3. Confirm the deletion of the workflow.
  4. Upload the changes to your YouTrack server.

To delete individual workflow rules:

  1. Open the YouTrack Workflow Editor.
  2. In the list of workflows, right-click the name of the rule, and select Delete.
  3. Confirm the deletion of the rule.
  4. Upload the changes to your YouTrack server.
Last modified: 29 September 2016