YouTrack InCloud 2021.4 Help

Edit a Workflow

You can modify an existing workflow to adapt it to a specific use case. You can upload and customize rules from the YouTrack Custom Workflow Repository, modify your own workflows, or edit the default workflows that are available in your YouTrack instance.

When you apply changes to default workflows, your changes are preserved even when a new version of the default workflow is included in an upgrade of the product. You can revert your changes and restore the default definition of the workflow at any time. For more information, see Restore Default Workflows.

Updates to workflow rules are applied immediately in all projects to which they are attached when the changes are saved in the workflow editor.

To edit a workflow:

  1. From the Administration menu, select Workflows.

  2. Select the workflow that you want to modify in the list.

  3. Click the Edit workflow button in the sidebar.

    • Workflows that were build using the workflow constructor open in the workflow constructor.

      Here, you can add a rule to the exising workflow or edit the existing rules. Use the tabs and controls in the header to switch between and edit existing rules or add new rules to the workflow.

    • Workflows that were written using JavaScript open in the JavaScript editor.

      Here, you can either add a module to extend the workflow, or modify an existing module. To open an existing module in the editor, click the name of the module in the list.

  4. Modify the rules or scripts to support your use case.

  5. When done, click the Save button.

    • Updates to the workflow rules are applied immediately in all projects to which they are attached.

Delete Workflows and Rules

You can delete workflows in the Administration area in YouTrack. Follow this procedure when you want to delete the entire workflow, including all of the rules and custom scripts that it contains.

This action requires that you have the relevant permissions in all of the projects to which the workflow is currently attached.

To delete a workflow in YouTrack:

  1. From the Administration menu, select Workflows.

  2. Select the workflow or workflows that you want to delete in the list.

  3. Click the Delete selected workflows icon in the toolbar.

  4. Confirm the action in the confirmation dialog.

    • The selected workflows are deleted.

Follow this procedure to delete individual rules without removing the entire workflow.

This action requires that you have the relevant permissions in all of the projects to which the rule is currently attached.

To delete individual workflow rules:

  1. From the Administration menu, select Workflows.

  2. Select the workflow that you want to modify in the list.

  3. Click the Edit workflow button in the sidebar

    • The workflow opens in the workflow constructor.

  4. Select the tab that corresponds to the rule that you want to delete.

  5. Open the Show more menu for the workflow rule, then select the Delete rule option.

  6. Confirm the action in the confirmation dialog.

    • The selected rule is removed from the workflow.

To delete individual workflow rules:

  1. From the Administration menu, select Workflows.

  2. Select the workflow that you want to modify in the list.

  3. Click the Edit workflow button in the sidebar

    • The workflow opens in the JavaScript editor.

  4. Next to the module that contains the rule you want to delete, click the Delete module icon in the sidebar.

  5. Confirm the action in the confirmation dialog.

    • The selected module is removed from the workflow.

Last modified: 28 October 2021