dotTrace 2021.1 Help

Work with Snapshots

While you profile an application, dotTrace collects performance or timeline data and writes it correspondingly to a *.dtp or *.dtt file.

Temporary snapshot storage

By default, dotTrace saves all collected snapshots to the temporary snapshot storage. The temporary storage is just a folder on the disk. The default storage location is %HOMEPATH%/dotTraceSnapshots. You can change it in Settings | Temporary Snapshot Storage | Storage location.

If you may need a particular snapshot in the future, we recommend that you don't store it in the temporary storage but save it in another location.

To disable auto-saving snapshots to the temporary storage

  1. Open the Settings tab.

  2. Clear the Auto-save all collected snapshots in temporary storage checkbox.

To see the size of the temporary snapshot storage and clean it up

  1. Open the Snapshots tab.

  2. The size is shown on top of the page.

    Storage size
  3. To clean up the storage, click the Clean up link. This will permanently delete all snapshots from the storage.

To configure auto-cleanup of the temporary snapshot storage

  1. Open the Settings tab.

  2. Under Temporary snapshot storage, configure two cleanup rules:

    • In Auto-delete snapshots that were not opened in last [ ] days, specify how many days snapshots must not be opened to qualify for auto-deletion. 0 disables the rule.

    • In Auto-delete old snapshots so that the storage size never exceeds [ ] GB, specify the maximum allowed size of the storage. When new snapshots are saved into the storage, dotTrace tracks its current size. If this size is exceeded, dotTrace will delete the oldest snapshot(s) in the storage so that the storage size doesn't exceed the limit. 0 disables the rule.

Opening snapshots

  1. Open the Snapshots tab.

  2. Double-click the required snapshot.

Saving snapshots

By default, snapshots are stored in the temporary storage. If you need a particular snapshot for future use or want to share the snapshot with other people, you should save it to the disk.

  1. Open the Snapshots tab.

  2. Right-click the required snapshot.

  3. In the context menu, select Save To....

    Save snapshot
  4. Specify new location and click Save.

    After this, the snapshot will remain in the Snapshots list, but it will change its status from 'saved in the temporary storage' to 'saved on the disk'. The initial snapshot in the temporary storage will be deleted.

Renaming snapshots

  1. Open the Snapshots tab.

  2. Right-click the required snapshot and in the context menu, select Edit Name.

  3. Specify the desired name and press Enter.

Last modified: 08 March 2021