PyCharm 2019.2 Help

Editing Individual Files on Remote Hosts

Once you've set up synchronization with a remote host, you can open individual files directly from the remote host and edit them in PyCharm, without adding/downloading them to a local project.

Debugging, refactorings, and some other PyCharm features are not supported for such files. To take advantage of advanced PyCharm functionality, consider including the files into a project, see Accessing Files on Web Servers for details.

Edit a file on a remote host

  1. If you have set a default remote host, select Deployment | Edit Remote File from the context menu in the Project Tool Window, Version Control Tool Window, or the code editor.

    Otherwise, do the following:

    • Open the Remote Host tool window by choosing Tools | Deployment | Browse Remote Host or View | Tool Windows | Remote Host from the main menu.

    • Select the required deployment server from the list. The tool window shows a tree view of files and folders under the server root. If no relevant server is available in the list, click the Browse button, and in the Deployment dialog that opens configure access to the required server.

    • Double-click the desired file or select Edit Remote File from the context menu.

      Edit file on remote host
  2. The file opens in the PyCharm editor, without being added or downloaded to the local project.

    Editing a file on remote host

    When you work with a remote file, a special toolbar appears at the top of the editor, showing the editing status (The file is identical to remote one or The file has been modified. Upload?).

    Remote files can be distinguished from local ones by the annotation that includes the server name (in our case it is <MyServer>).

    Remote file annotation
  3. When you are done editing the file, do one of the following:

    • To upload the file to the remote host, click the Upload current remote file button or press Shift+Alt+Q.

    • To compare the currently opened file with the last uploaded version, click the Compare with last uploaded version button. The files are opened in the PyCharm Differences viewer for files.

    • To discard the changes introduced to the file after the last upload, click the Revert to last uploaded version button.

Note that any changes to an individual file are discarded as soon as you close the file or the currently opened project unless these changes have been uploaded. To prevent losing your data, PyCharm displays the following dialog when you attempt to close the edited file or the entire project.

Confirm uploading message
Last modified: 6 November 2019