JetBrains CodeCanvas 2024.1 Help

Manage User Accounts

To edit user accounts: On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles, and open the profile that you want to edit.

Suspend user accounts

You can suspend a person's account to temporarily ban the person from accessing CodeCanvas. If the person's account is suspended:

  • The person won't be able to log in to CodeCanvas.

  • The person won't be able to create new dev environments or use existing ones.

  • The person's SSH keys and personal tokens will be disabled.

  • The person will not receive email notifications.

  • A suspended tag visible to everyone will appear on the person's profile.

  • System administrators can manage and edit suspended accounts as usual.

You can lift the ban and restore a suspended account at any time.

To suspend a user account

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles.

  2. Open the person's profile.

  3. Click Edit profile.

  4. Click Suspend at the bottom of the page.

  5. In the dialog, specify when the account should be suspended (date and time), or keep the default settings to block it immediately.

  6. Click Suspend.

Restore suspended accounts

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles.

  2. Open the person's profile.

  3. Click Edit profile.

  4. Click Restore at the bottom of the page and confirm your action.

Deactivate user accounts

When a person leaves the company (resigned, fired), all their membership and access privileges can be terminated and the profile archived. The person won't be able to log in to CodeCanvas.

Deactivating an account (profile) also removes all the personal data such as profile picture, email, phone number, etc. However, the person's username, first and last names, their membership, and activity history is kept intact.

You can reactivate a deactivated account, but the removed personal records as well as team and project memberships will not be restored upon reactivation.

To deactivate a user account

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles.

  2. Open the person's profile.

  3. Click Edit profile.

  4. Click Deactivate at the bottom of the page.

  5. In the dialog, specify when the account should be deactivated (date and time), or keep the default settings to deactivate it immediately.

  6. Click Deactivate.

To view all inactive (archived) profiles

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles.

  2. Select the Inactive status.

Reactivate inactive accounts

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles.

  2. Open the person's profile.

  3. Click Edit profile.

  4. Click Reactivate at the bottom of the page.

  5. In the dialog, specify when the account should be reactivated (date and time), or keep the default settings to activate it immediately.

  6. Click Save.

Delete user accounts

You can permanently delete a user account if it has been created by mistake. You might also want to delete inactive profiles of former employees if your company no longer needs those records.

To delete a user account

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles, and set the filter to Inactive).

  2. Open the person's profile.

  3. Click Edit profile.

  4. Click Delete at the bottom of the page.

    The profile will be permanently deleted, all access and membership rights revoked.

Request password change (built-in authentication)

If you believe there is a security issue with a user's password, you can invalidate it and send the user a request to set a new password. This action is possible only for the passwords managed by the built-in authentication module.

  1. On the sidebar, choose Administration, then Member Profiles, and set the filter to Inactive).

  2. Open the person's profile.

  3. Click Edit profile and on the profile sidebar, select Logins.

  4. Click Reset password.

  5. Confirm your action. The user will be logged out and receive an email with a link to a reset page.

Last modified: 17 May 2024